PT Day

I decided to spend today’s workout doing PT exercises & focusing on my weaker leg. My training plan (Hal Higdon’s Novice 1) says I can either do a 3 mile run or cross training on Wednesdays for the remainder of my training, so I think it’s best to go with cross training along with PT exercises.

I’ve been noticing some tightness around my knee on my weaker leg now that my long runs are 7+ miles. This is around the point I started having issues last time, so I want to be as cautious & careful as possible.

I’ve been researching articles about muscle imbalances because my right leg continues to get stronger & my left leg seems to be at a standstill. I found a really good article here & I’m going to start doing my strength training this way. I think my job is definitely contributing to my muscle imbalance issue. I’m trying to be more conscious of my movements & even standing differently at work so that my weight is on my left leg as much as possible.

The root of my problem seems to be a weak left hip so I did these exercises in this YouTube video & I’m going to be doing these everyday from now, along with some of my previous PT exercises.

20130410-130916.jpg

So, I’m trying to do everything I possibly can to prevent another injury. Hopefully this tightness doesn’t develop into pain & my training continues to go smoothly.

Have you tried these Belvita biscuits?

20130410-132303.jpg

They are so good!

Leave a Reply

