It’s Official

I finally registered for the half marathon I’ve been training for.

20130403-130908.jpg

I’ve been hesitant to sign up because of what happened during training for my last half marathon, when I injured my knee & was out for 3 months. But, as my friend Fred said, I can’t live my life in fear of what may or may not happen. Also, the Indy Mini just sold out so the Geist probably will, too. Now, all I can do is continue to be smart about training & hope & pray that my knee stays healthy!

Today’s workout was a 2 mile progression run, squats, lunges, push ups, & an ab workout.

20130403-131728.jpg

Then, I did some foam rolling!

20130403-131809.jpg

I think foam rolling is fun! Although, when I actually have sore muscles, I guarantee it won’t be fun at all. Ha!

QOTD..
How far in advance do you sign up for races?

4 thoughts on “It’s Official

  1. Geist was my first half, and i was NOT prepared for the hills (beginning at mile 7, I think). Make sure you get those hill runs in before the big day and good luck!

  2. Way to go! Garnering up the guts to actually sign up for the darn thing is the hardest part, for many people.

    I tend to sign up for small events (i.e. 5Ks) on the day of; medium events (i.e. half marathons, sprint and olympic triathlons) at least a couple of months in advance, and bigger events (marathons, half ironman events) 4-6 months in advance.

    It’s a delicate balance between knowing how quickly your own body will adapt to new training, and confidently signing up for the event regardless, since having registered is likely to act as a positive impetus to complete that training.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

