Rest Days

20130318-130724.jpg

Mondays & Fridays are my rest days. This is the first rest day all month that I haven’t had to get up early for an appointment & actually got to sleep in. Sleeping in for me is getting 7-8 hours of sleep. Last night I managed to get a little over 8 hours for the first time in a LONG time! I’m not feeling as refreshed as I had hoped.

Since I don’t have anything fitness related to talk about today, I will introduce you to my furry children.

This is Gracie.

20130318-131727.jpg

She’s a 6 or 7 year old Australian Cattle Dog mix. We adopted her about 4 years ago from a no-kill shelter. She had an eye deformity that required surgery to repair. She also had been abused & while she’s come a long way in the past few years, she can be a handful.

This is Ellie.

20130318-132518.jpg

She’s a 3 year old Chocolate Lab mix. Ellie was my first foster dog through a no-kill shelter & had mange very badly when she came to us. We quickly decided to adopt her & she is the sweetest dog you will ever meet!

This is Toby.

20130318-132954.jpg

He’s a 5 year old Dachshund. He was also one of my fosters we ended up adopting. He was in three homes & the humane society before the no-kill shelter took him & placed him with us. He is a very stubborn little boy but an awesome cuddle buddy!

This is Oliver.

20130318-133400.jpg

He was a stray that we took in & found out about a month later that he’s diabetic so we have to give him an insulin shot every 12 hours. He’s been doing well on the insulin for a few years now. Oliver is the coolest, most laid back cat I’ve ever met!

Finally, we have Cornelius (non-furry).

20130318-133837.jpg

He’s a 4 year old corn snake & about 5 ft long. He’s very docile & fun to watch!

I’m going to start doing a Question of the Day so hopefully when I get more followers, my blog can become more interactive.

Today’s QOTD..
Do you have any pets? Tell me about them!

6 thoughts on “Rest Days

  1. I have 2 dogs. A yellow lab who is 13 years old, his name is Yukon Cornelius. A black lab who is 10 and her name is Whitney. They are just like children and have completely different personalities and I love them!

  2. Sorry I’m a late follower. I have two fuzkids. Scout is a 13 year old Aussie Shepherd/Blue Heeler/Rottie mix. I used to run a lot with her, but she’s slowed down now. My other, Summer, is a two year old Rottweiler. I absolutely love this breed. I’ve had four. Unfortunately, they are prone to getting cancer. I run for Chase Away K9 Cancer to raise awareness. Lots of people don’t know dogs get cancer. Your Gracie looks like she has some Dutch Shepherd in her. Congrats on your rescues. They’re beautiful. Til next time.

    • Thank you! That’s awesome that you run for canine cancer. My first dog, that I adopted when I was 12, got malignant melanoma when she was 15. It was devastating because she was still in great shape for an older dog & still played like a puppy. I miss her like crazy!

      When I was training for my first half marathon, I did a fundraiser for Running for Rescues & raised almost $700! I wear my Running for Rescues shirt to a lot of races. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Aww, you have quite a menagerie! They’re all adorable, even cornelius ha ha. Lucky crew, seems like you are giving them a really wonderful home to live in! I love my shelter dog more than anything, my little baby!

Leave a Reply

