Garmin Forerunner 610

Today is my favorite workout day of the week, long run day! I’ve been doing most of my runs at the gym this winter, but I REALLY wanted to try out my new Garmin Forerunner 610!

It was cold & windy (33 degrees, real feel 27) so I wore an Under Armour mock-neck long sleeved tech shirt underneath another long sleeved tech shirt, compression shorts with long tights, gloves, & a headband to cover my ears. It really wasn’t too bad after the first half mile. I got warmed up pretty quickly & at about mile 4 I was feeling a little over layered.

20130317-162723.jpg

As most of you know who are reading this, I injured my knee back in October while training for my first half marathon. I sprained my meniscus & was diagnosed with patellar instability. I did physical therapy for three months & have been taking it easier this time around with training for my next half marathon. I’ve been working on slowing down most of my training runs & especially my long runs. This is never a problem when I’m running on the treadmill at the gym, but when I run outside, I have a really hard time slowing down. Today, my body just really wanted to run faster. I ended up with an average pace about a full minute faster than my goal long run pace. Oh well, I figure it’s okay every once in awhile.

20130317-164721.jpg

20130317-164752.jpg

20130317-164826.jpg

As you can see, I cranked it up on the last mile. My legs were feeling really good! There was an issue with the HR monitor somewhere along the way, but other than that, I love the Garmin!

Now I’m about to devour this Moo Goo Gai Pan & Crab Rangoon!

20130317-170004.jpg

3 thoughts on “Garmin Forerunner 610

  1. LOL anytime you want to send me some of your speed you can. It amazes me how far you have came since we have became MFP friends. I’m very proud of you!

  2. Pingback: Rule of Thumb; Omit Workout If There’s Strong Winds | Silk & Tofu

Leave a Reply

